State of the Union Address

Status
Not open for further replies.

Run&Gun

This isn't political, just about the coverage. I was flipping back and forth between CBS, NBC and FOX tonight(didn't check out ABC) during the State of the Union Address and noticed that NBC, CBS and FOX(?) were doing it in HD(I have an HD set obviously) and it looked good, nice color and a sharp picture on CBS and NBC, just like it should, but FOX on the other hand just looked bad. I know it's a pool situation and all of the shots are coming out of the same cameras inside, but it just looked like a widescreen standard definition feed on FOX. I've been shooting HD for a couple of months now, but have just recently(this week) started really watching over-the-air High Definition, and I have to say that I'm really dissapointed in FOX if they were doing it in HD, but not as dissapointed as I will be come Sunday if the Super Bowl looks as bad as the State of the Union Address. I hope it was just some technical problems and they weren't doing it in HD, but just SD for some reason or another, otherwise they need to stop saying that they're "Broadcasting in 720P, the World's Finest High Definition Standard".

thru-the-lens

I didn't see the state of the union address tongiht. And I don't know if FOX carried the speech in HD or not.

Both CBS and NBC broadcast in 1080i and FOX is 720P. My Samsung reciever requires you to tell it the difference between the two when you select the channel. This is for the OVER THE AIR BROADCAST SIGNAL. Maybe that was your problem?

If you get the HD signal from your cable company maybe they are responsible for a crappy HD signal?

Have you noticed this difference on other FOX HD programs? At least you have sometime to play with it before super bowl sunday. Good Luck.

thru-the-lens.

[ February 03, 2005, 01:01 AM: Message edited by: thru-the-lens ]

Kent